You are here: HomeThe ClassNews2008 Australian and Open International Contender Championships

2008 Australian and Open International Contender Championships


Below is a short report on the 2008 Australian Championships Brisbane that finished on Sunday the 6th of January. 

Tim Hill won from Marcus Hamilton. 

The weather pattern was very unusual in that there was an intense low that affected the whole regatta.

Days 1 and 2 were blown out with too much wind. 

Day 3 was 4 races all in 22k plus, one very gust came through the fleet well above 30k in race 3. 

Photo credits: "Tim Hill" - Scott McInerney, "Day 3" - Yle Mareliati, "Top Five" - Ian Kirkwood


Tim dominated with places of 1,2,1,1. Marcus was not himself, he broke some gear capsised and got 3,28,3,2.  2 veterans from WA had good races on Day 3, Chris Sutherland (me) had 2,3,4,6 and John Cassidy with 3,4,5,7.  Jonno Neate broke his mast during a capsise (he was sailing Andrea's boat with his own rig).   Matt Mulder the ex national champion won race 2 and was 3rd in race 4 sailed well also.  

Day 4 was 2 meduim wind races, Sandy Cavill from won race 1 on day 4, and Marcus won race 2 starting to show world championship form. 

On the last day day 5, the wind was 8 - 10k, Marcus won from Chris Peile (in Sorens old boat), with Tim Hill 3rd which was good enough to win the regatta.
The last race was cancelled as large thunderstorm threatened the fleet.
Marco Versari sailed a very consistent regatta in Matt Hosie's boat to come 3rd overall.

The top 5 were Tim Hill 10pts, Marcus 14, Marco 25, Chris Sutherland 30, Grant Robinson 35.
All sailed Bonnezi boats apart from Chris Sutherland's Windrush. Full results available from Australian ICA website.

The regatta was sailed in Brisbane the water conditions are similar to Medemblik, and usually the climate is dry and moderate wind although for this regatta was warm wet and windy.  Brisbane is the venue for the 2010 worlds and is a excellent venue,  we will post further reports.

Chris Sutherland Aus 2408